its not only about the footballer pi
its not only about the footballer pi

Yeats in the Gold Cup at Royal Ascot

(Photo : Getty Images)


We all know that Solskjaer was named for the best footballer in the world. Coolmore have a habit of reserving the names of famous people for their horses, and allocating them when they find one worthy of the honour. At the time, they happened to own more than 30% of Manchester United, and they named their two best juveniles after the two best players at the club. Solskjaer was one of them, and while he suffered with every malaise there was, he never let them down. When Ormond Ferraris, Charles Laird, Mike de Kock, Herman Brown Snr, Barry Irwin and Mike Bass put their hands up for his first yearlings at the National sales this year, it was apparent that they too, knew how good he was, with his daughter Victory Garden, emerging the highest priced South African filly of 2009.

Friday night witnessed Europe’s Racehorse Owners’ Championship awards in London, and Solskjaer’s kid brother, Yeats, named for the famous poet, earned an unprecedented fourth consecutive Stayer Of The Year award, for his fourth consecutive and equally unprecented Ascot Gold Cup (Gr.1) victory.

The Thoroughbred Daily News reported this weekend on the gala affair, noting that Sea The Stars was named Horse Of The Year, adding further lustre to a stellar career.

MORE ACCOLADES FOR STARS Sea the Stars (Ire) (Cape Cross {Ire}—Urban Sea, by Miswaki) has received further honors when named Horse of the Year at the annual Racehorse Owners’ Association awards in London. Also awarded the title of Outstanding Three-Year-Old Colt, Christopher Tsui’s homebred sensation enjoyed the same attention as he had at the recent Cartier Awards and his owner was also the recipient of the 2009 Owner of the Year prize. In the other categories, Khalid Abdullah’s G1 Cheveley Park S. winner Special Duty (GB) (Hennessy) and G1 Nassau S. and GI Breeders’ Cup Filly & Mare Turf heroine Midday (GB) (Oasis Dream {GB}) picked up the Two-Year-Old Filly and Three-Year-Old Filly awards respectively; the Two-Year-Old Colt division was headed by Derrick Smith’s G1 Racing Post Trophy hero St Nicholas Abbey (Ire) (Montjeu {Ire}). Ballymacoll’s G1 King George and GI Breeders’ Cup Turf scorer Conduit (Ire) (Dalakhani {Ire}) was named Outstanding Older Horse; James Edgar and William Donaldson’s G1 Nunthorpe S. winner Borderlescott (GB) (Compton Place {GB}) clinched the Outstanding Sprinter title and Susan Magnier and Diane Nagle’s now-retired four-time G1 Gold Cup hero Yeats (Ire) (Sadler’s Wells) picked up yet another award when named Outstanding Stayer.