The J&B Met celebrates its 38th renewal Saturday 31 January 2015 at Kenilworth Racecourse. The J&B Met... Made For The Mix!

J&B MET (Grade 1)

Kenilworth, Turf, 2000m
31 January 2015

The R2,5 million J&B Met final field was announced last night and due to a few late scratchings, a field of just 15 runners is now due to line up for the 2000m spectacle on 31 January at Kenilworth Racecourse.

This will however not detract from the prestige of the great Grade 1 event as it is still full of quality and includes the three highest merit rated horses in the country; Legislate, Futura and Louis The King.

Furthermore, while the scratching of the best three-year-old in the country Act Of War was the biggest blow to the big race, he will still be seen in action on the day in the Grade 1 Investec Cape Derby and could now well be viewed as the "meeting banker."

Jet Belle, who was the only female incumbent in the top 20 of the final log, was another important scratching but has also not been lost to the meeting as she will run in the Grade 1 Klawervlei Majorca Stakes instead.

From a Summerhill perspective, we'll be rooting for the farm's super-competitive Ready To Run graduate, Killua Castle, vanquisher of last week's London News Stakes.

# Horse Kg Trainer Jockey
1 LEGISLATE 60.0 Justin Snaith Richard Fourie
2 FUTURA 60.0 Brett Crawford Bernard Fayd'Herbe
3 LOUIS THE KING 60.0 Geoff Woodruff Piere Strydom
4 GOLD ONYX (NZ) 58.5 Sean Tarry Grant Behr
5 JET EXPLORER 58.5 Justin Snaith Greg Cheyne
6 KILLUA CASTLE (AUS) 58.5 Geoff Woodruff Akesh Aucharuz
7 TELLINA 58.5 Geoff Woodruff Gavin Lerena
8 PATERFAMILIAS 58.5 Mike Bass Corne Orffer
9 PUNTA ARENAS 58.5 Stan Elley Aldo Domeyer
10 ASTRO NEWS 58.5 Justin Snaith *L Mxothwe
11 DYNAMIC 58.5 Justin Snaith Sean Cormack
12 JOHNNY ROCKETS 58.5 Justin Snaith MJ Byleveld
13 ARION 58.0 Justin Snaith S'Manga Khumalo
14 POWER KING 58.0 Dean Kannemeyer Karl Neisius
15 HELDERBERG BLUE 58.0 Mike Bass Grant van Niekerk

The J&B Met gallops will be held at Kenilworth racecourse from 07h00 on Thursday January 22. The Barrier Draw ceremony will follow the gallops and is due to start at 08h00. Both the gallops and the Barrier draw will be screened live on Tellytrack.