Miss AndrettiMiss Andretti (Getty)Miss Andretti (Aus) (Ihtarim {Ire}) was named Australian ‘Racehorse of the Year,’ as well as champion sprinter and ‘Most Popular Racehorse’ trophy at the Australian Racehorse of the Year and Hall of Fame gala dinner at Royal Randwick on Monday night. During season 2006-07, Miss Andretti won four Group 1 races: the Manikato S., Lightning S., Australia S. and Newmarket H. before scoring in the G2 King’s Stand S. at Royal Ascot in June. Miss Andretti, who flew out Monday night ahead of her tilt in the G1 Hong Kong International Sprint on Dec. 9, collected 75 of the votes for most popular title, well clear of rivals Miss Finland (Aus) (16); Haradasun (Aus) and Takeover Target (Aus) (three); and Racing to Win (Aus) (two).

Miss Andretti’s trainer, Lee Freedman, and jockey Craig Newitt, were absent from the awards ceremony because Racing Victoria stewards advised the EI quarantine would keep them away from the stables and the races for two days afterwards. “She deserves to win it, without a doubt,” said Newitt, who traveled to the U.K. with the six-year-old for her Royal Ascot score. “She’s a multiple Group 1 winner and broke three track records in the process.”

Miss Andretti has a record of 19 wins from 28 starts and earnings of AUS$ 2,836,991.

Green%20Camera%20Link%20Sml.jpgClick here to watch  Miss Andretti taking the 2007 Schweppes Stakes.

Extract from TDN 27/11/07